Secret Wonders

I have been having a very busy May, lots of fun things happening! My children are finishing the end of school with all the activities that seems to bring, the school carnival, a school wide field trip to a baseball game. Rachel also had a wonderful end of the year dance recital this past weekend!

Ballerina

I have a few exciting things happening here on the blog and in my speaking ministry. I currently am working with an amazing designer on a new blog layout with a custom domain name, let’s just say I’m pretty excited to reveal that! I also had the opportunity to speak to a lovely group of women this past weekend, on how the Lord makes us a captivating beauty that rises above the unnoticed. I hope to be able to share some clips of that soon!

I also had my post Faith Bigger Than Fear featured on Women With Intention, a great blog I link up at on Wednesday’s. I will also begin to host my own link up, Words With Winter, so once my new blog is up and running be sure to follow me and be the first to join the party! I also want to take a quick second to say thanks so much to all you readers. I am honored that you would stop by and I pray that you find encouragement at this little corner of mine. So on to today’s blog post:

I’ve always had a secret question, a secret wonder. Why do we need to pray about something more than once? After all aren’t we supposed to have faith in God’s power? So to repeat a prayer over and over I worried showed a lack of trust in God’s abilities.

Jesus says in Matthew 17:20  “If you had faith even as small as a mustard seed, you could say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it would move. Nothing would be impossible.” 
Now I do pray for things over and over like loved ones battling hardships, my son waiting on testing for a diagnosis and an explanation of his hair loss, those I know facing challenges and changes in their lives. I do this because the word also says:

“Pray without ceasing” in 1 Thessalonians 5:17 pray without ceasing

I don’t want my wonders to get in the way of prayers being answered, so I pray. I pray every time they enter my mind, I pray until I have peace over the situation. Yet I do still wonder.

Every week on Wednesdays I drive half an hour to the next town over for coffee with my girls. A few weeks ago, as I’m in the car praying and worrying over my son as only a mom can do, that question popped into my mind. I started thinking about that secret question and how I’ve always wondered if I was supposed to pray the same prayer over and over, and if so, why did I need to pray more than once.

While driving down highway 15 God gave me an answer, it wasn’t audible but it was a mental picture. It was as if I was standing facing a thin, almost see through, wall that pressing blackness was approaching. Then I saw other believers and we were sending prayers and each of those prayers seemed to fly against the darkness and beat it back. The thought came we don’t know of the unseen spiritual battle, I can’t see it, but it is hard and it’s a battle to the death. So with each prayer I send out, and other believers send out, they keep the blackness of spiritual darkness away.

Once I arrived at the coffee shop my mind was still a little wowed! I immediately tell my girls about this and Amy reminds me of a story I’d heard before. It was of a woman stepping up to the king to present her request and instead of going home she gets in line again. She makes her way to the front to present the same request, at her arrival the king remembers her vaguely. She continues to do this all day and by the end of the day the king remembers her and knows her request before she speaks it. He realizes that she is persistent and grants her request.

I don’t present either of these pictures to lead you to believe that God is a willy nilly granter of “wishes” nor do I think every prayer is a spiritual warfare defense.

I do present you with the idea that God longs for a continual conversation with you. He wants you to share your worries, fears and even questions. He hears each one. God knows the worries of our hearts and when we turn them into prayers over worries we will be filled with a peace that passes all understanding. worries into prayers

So sweet friends, pray without ceasing, no matter how big or small the Lord is only waiting to remove that worry from your shoulders. Pray until you are filled with peace, peace that comes when we no longer pick back up our worry, but we leave it at the King of Kings throne.

You can find me on these awesome blogs! 

29 thoughts on “Secret Wonders

  1. what an encouragement this blog was for me this morning! God is so quick to remind us of His promises and I am so thankful I can go to Him continually and with fervency until I receive an answer. Love you Winter and I’m praying for you and your ministry that God will continue to use you mightily in your words and thoughts you write.

    • I couldn’t seem to find a place to comment on your blog but it looks great! You’re Made for a God Sized Dream is one of my favorite books! (I’ve read it twice) I saw you are a She Speaks graduate are you attending again this year? I plan to be there and I’m so excited!

  2. Pray without ceasing. I love this reminder. Thanks for encouraging us to continue in our conversations with the Lord. This was such an encouragement to me this morning as we have been praying for the same thing for some time in our house.

  3. Oh I love this… as a pray-er and lover of the power of prayer… this is such a great post! I remember years ago while in prayer – and feeling the same questions about having prayed for something over and over, the Lord whispered assurance to me in this: He said, “If it concerns you, then it concerns Me!” Amen!

  4. What a gorgeous picture of your daughter! It sounds like you have a lot of exciting things going on. I’m so thankful for your words today. I find myself praying about the same things over and over again. I often wonder if I’m just spinning my wheels. This has certainly brought me comfort: “pray without ceasing, no matter how big or small the Lord is only waiting to remove that worry from your shoulders.” So true!

  5. Winter, congratulations of your blogging journey and the new things that are coming. Thanks for sharing your heart and your plans in God. I’m visiting you from Woman 2 Woman Link Up, glad I found you there! Lovely pictures by the way. I’m also looking for hosting and designing a new blog, what do you recommend?

    W/Love,
    Tayrina from TGAWrites

    • I’m so glad you stopped by! I take most of the images here…photography is a passion that was a business that hasreturned to hobby/fun status! I loved the designer I found on etsy she has been so great to work with and created my vision that I couldn’t even hardly describe. You can find her at (http://littlewebwritinghoodblog.com/) I highly recommend her! Good luck on the new design!

  6. Stopping by from Woman to Woman Word Filled Wednesday. I have wondered about this too! Along with why we need to pray it if God already knows. But not getting caught up on those little things is part of living by faith and leaning on His Word instead of our own understanding, I think. Thanks for sharing your honest question and the answer He gave you : ) Blessings!

  7. Winter,
    Visiting from Holley’s link-up today and so glad I did! Your thoughtful post on prayer spoke powerfully to me as I certainly have the same sentiments on fighting a spiritual battle with our prayer lives. Presenting our requests to God is all about relationship and conversation. I often wonder if I should pray for someone or something that in the future may have little connection with me, but I’ve felt impressed that prayers for someone are never wasted, no matter what their future involvement in your life. Thank you for these thoughts — I’ll be pondering them today!

    • I’m so glad that you were challenged today, you are so right, no prayer is wasted! I’m so glad you stopped by!…I will certainly stop by your place later. Your blog is becoming one of my favorites to visit!

    • I’m so glad that you were encouraged today! I am a descriptive person and He certainly knows what I need to “get it” so happy that you stopped by!

  8. Found you Winter on Women with Intention Wednesdays. Congratulations on the new upcoming blog site and I will look forward to joining your linkups. I am in the midst of praying without ceasing for something and learning too that our relationship with the Father is what matters so very much to Him. The more we come to Him, the more He reveals about Himself.

    • You are so right, that is all He really wants is more of us! I would love for you to join in on the linkup! My blog will be live sooner than I planned so I’m pretty excited!

  9. What a great reminder to take all our cares to the Lord. I sometimes get in the attitude that I can handle the small thing but let God take care of the big things and I’m missing a wonderful sharing with God in all Things. Thanks for sharing. Visiting from Woman to Woman Link Up.

  10. What great images! I love the verse pray without ceasing, because it really is about us staying in communication with God. I have much more peace when I give it to Him!

  11. Your daughter is a real beauty and your post and blog are lovely! May we remain in a constant attitude of prayer, experiencing the joy and peace of sweet communion with Him. Linked up with you at Sunday Stillness — hope you’ll stop by Saved by Grace for a visit!
    God bless,
    Laurie

  12. Wow! Just last night I was wrestling with this very same question!! It was concerning a prayer for a loved one who was going to be in a situation that could be too much as far as temptation. I continued to pray throughout the evening and as I fell asleep and even when I woke up in the middle of the night, I kept praying the same prayer of protection from Satan’s schemes to “trip him up”. As I did so I wondered, am I showing that I am not trusting by praying about the same thing over and over again.

    In my particular prayer request last night, the revelation you received with the images of our prayers fighting back the spiritual warfare seemed so appropriate.

    I also found your insight about praying until you feel peace very encouraging as well.

    One of the most freeing prayers I pray is to pray back the psalm that says, “The Lord will accomplish all that concerns me.” I list out my concerns to the Lord, and pray that promise to Him. There have been sooo many prayers the Lord has answered in profound ways, maybe not even in the way I had anticipated, but nonetheless, answered above and beyond what I had hoped for.

    Such amazing love, that the King of Kings and Lord of Lords wants to have a personal relationship with us, minute by minute, hour by hour, day by day.

    Thanks so much for sharing!

  13. These are great questions that I’m sure we all struggle through from time to time – I know I do! 🙂 I love your carefully thought-out answers and that you came to the conclusion of the fact that Jesus wants our ongoing conversations! Thanks for sharing with us at Grace & Truth!

Leave a Reply

