Does Anybody See You

Today I was honored to guest blog over at www.amyschlichter.com. Here is just a bit of my thoughts, to read the rest join Amy and don’t forget to leave her some blog love!
I was in the car driving home the other night when a song came on the radio, an old song I’ve heard hundreds of times but something about it this time struck me. It was Does Anybody Hear Her by Casting Crowns this song about a girl seeking and craving salvation struck me in a different way. It made me think how I am like this girl, yes I know Jesus and I’m not seeking new salvation, but yet I still feel like her especially with these lyrics… two years further into the journey yet three more steps behind, standing under the shadow of the steeple does anybody see her, does anybody hear her-insert me here.

I watch myself and other women become lost in the shadows of doing it all, being it all. We create this monster of have it together, keep it together, everyone is watching and I can’t slip, I can’t let my real life struggles show. I know recently there has been lots of talk about realness and being authentic and I love that; yet do we do it? Do I? Or am I the girl hiding in the shadows trying to keep all my ugly covered?

Even when I’m not intending to keep it hidden and covered, I do. Several years ago I was shown how I do it in a loving way. This woman who spoke these words, I’m sure had no idea how they would stick with me. She said, “until I got to really talk with you and know you, I thought you had it all together, had it all figured out and were just shy of perfect.”

I laughed, I mean really laughed, my first thought was wow I had no idea I had the wool pulled over her eyes! Yet I paused and thought, well until I got real with this group of ladies why would they think differently? Facebook and my smiles, while crying on the inside, did wonders to give that distorted view of my life.  I don’t often willingly share my heart, maybe pieces, but not with more then one or two.

How often do you say fine when someone asks how are you?…..To finish today’s blog post be sure to visit Amy at www.amyschlichter.com

Leave a Reply

